My Euphoria (intense state of happiness)

Salaam Walaykum,

Inspiration~Iman Omari’s  “Euphoria”

I would have to agree with Mr. Iman Omari, solitude is my euphoria. Being alone, in the silence of my mind away from everyone can be the most healing and empowering time for me.  I finally found peace…deep in myself a few days ago. I decided to go the ocean. To great Yemanja and ask her to take away any fear away from me, and she did. Such a blessing to live so close to the ocean~

What’s your Euphoria?~

I went to Agadir two weekends ago. It was a hot ,sticky and long 4 hour train ride south. Then we transferred to a bus in Marrakesh (which I am excited to return to and do some more exploring). I met this wonderful soul on the bus from London. A true journey woman. We talked about everything under the sun, spirituality , family, politics, cultural differences, womanhood. You know as I travel and grow more, I am really starting to see more and more divine design. The night before I set an intention to meet someone who could help connect me with people in Spain for when I travel there; and low and behold this woman I met on the way to Agadir has two friends who have spend some time in Barcelona. She really inspired me to feel comfortable with traveling alone. She said that when you travel alone you are often more likely to meet locals and other travelers.  I just love it when the universe sends me gifts like that~

My first morning in Agadir I went along with some people in my program to go horseback riding. I had never ridden a horse before so I was stoked. And I was even more excited that my first time would be on the beach in Agadir, Morocco. Oh it was such a magical experience. I know I may sound hella corny, but I truly felt one with the horse. He was kind of stubborn in the beginning but I felt his energy and we began to just vibe with one another. Minus the bruises and pain on my rear end that followed, it was very peaceful.  Went for a dip in the ocean. Something about the Atlantic feels different than the Pacific. I have not been able to put my finger on it.

Spent the past weekend, the last weekend in September (almost the full moon) in  the imperial city of Fez, the former capital. Although the trip started off a little rough (a really bad case of motion sickness and a half a day in bed with vertigo like symptoms) I managed to get out of bed the next day, hamdulllah, and explore the magnificent city of Fez. One of the first things I noticed were all of the trees.  Huge cedar trees everywhere, well in the new medina, which is where our hotel was located. I guess the fact that Fez is about 40 minutes from the Middle Atlas ( the huge mountain range the is the core of Morocco) affects the terrain.  There are three medinas the “new medina” which built by the French in 1912, the “older medina” which was built in the 11th century I believe and then the “old medina” which was built in the 7th century. It is such a treat to be in a place with such a long history and such a respect for tradition.  As we penetrated the old medina, I noticed that the streets were much more clean than the medina streets here in Rabat. I didn’t have to watch my step as much. We visited a medrasa (Koranic higher school of religious sciences) which was built in the 14th century. The detail of the zellaj (tile work) and the carving on the plaster and cedarwood was just phenomenal. Just to think that all of this was done by hand, piece by piece, amazes me. The professor who was guiding us told us that even when restoration took place, everything was still made in the traditional way, by hand. Beautiful.

I got a lot of warnings about the carpet store owners in Fez and the ways in which the will entice you with a cup of mint tea and a seat. But for the most part I didn’t get husseled or bothered too much.  The streets were supper narrow. Now I see how only donkeys and camels can travel through the old medina.

narrow streets in Fez

We then visited a restored caravan tavern that had this dreamy-like natural lighting from the courtyard. Apparently, in the tradition of Moroccan architecture, all structures are built with a courtyard as the main source of natural light and ventilation. The lovely house I live in had a courtyard until they remodeled it and put a rooftop on it.  Then we went up the hill to the old Jewish neighborhood called Mellah. I learned what distinguished the Jews from the Muslims, architecturally speaking, was their balconies. I got a few pictures.

The balconies in Le Mellah, the ancient Jewish neighborhood ( alot of people don’t know that the Jews have a long history in Morocco, one that predates the arrival of Islam and the Arabs).

 

I also learned that Fez got its name from the apparatus that was used to dig in the soil by the people who first inhabited the city. The name just stuck. Also some of the best cooks, carpets and artisans in Morocco come from Fez.

Enjoy the photos~

 

Fez

the palace door in Fez

view from the fortress of the old medina in Fez

the horse got hungry. agadir, morocco.

then we became the best of friends. agadir, morocco

Moroccan omelet. my mouth waters just looking at this again

love and light,

n

 

 

 

Leave a comment